Disaster Management Area C

A Joint Powers Authority of 10 Municipalities and the County of Los Angeles

Area C

Disaster Management Area C was created in 2004 per Government Code Section 6500 “to promote the coordination of disaster management, planning and preparedness efforts of the parties by cooperative planning, training and related activity under the direction of a Disaster Management Area Board.”

Area C member agencies include the cities of Alhambra, Burbank, Glendale, La Canada Flintridge, Monterey Park, Pasadena, San Fernando, San Gabriel, San Marino, South Pasadena and the County of Los Angeles.

Operational Area

The Disaster Management Area Board, the governing board, meets quarterly on the second Wednesday of February, May, September and November to conduct the business of the Joint Powers Authority. Meeting agendas are posted here.

Community Partners are organizations, institutions and businesses interested in disaster planning, response and recovery. They meet quarterly on the second Wednesday of January, April, June and October to share their capabilities and experience.

The Los Angeles County Operational Area consists of the County of Los Angeles and all 88 cities within the county. The cities are divided into eight Disaster Management Areas that vary in size from one to 25 cities. Each area is served by a Disaster Management Area Coordinator (DMAC).

For more information about the DMACs: dmacsonline.org.

City Resources